The Domesday Survey of AD 1086 records a priest in Painswick, so we assume that a church stood on this site in Saxon times. The first church building was probably built about 1040, added to in the Thirteenth century by the De Laci Family after the Norman Conquest. The Chapel was built in about 1377 and 1401. The tower was added in 1430, the Nave in 1480 and the sanctuary from 1546.
Around 1644 Royalist troops used cannon and firebombs to drive out the Parliamentarians quartered inside the church. There is graffiti on one of the columns left by one of the soldiers during the siege. Work continued through the 1700s and beyond.
The ninety nine yew trees and the unique ledger tombs date from the early eighteenth century.
New Street, Painswick, GL6 6UN